Technology Standards

The RFIDba is not a standards body. However, the RFIDba is coordinating, supporting and advising on existing standards with interested groups and government bodies. For this purpose, the RFIDba has created several Standards Advisory Committees (SAC). Those commitees will be the neutral center of competence on standards.

The frequencies used for RFID are, in principle, defined by their host country. The main bodies governing frequency allocation for RFID are:

  • USA: FCC (Federal Communications Commission)
  • Canada: CRTC (Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission)
  • Europe: ERO, CEPT, ETSI, and national administrations (note that the national administrations must ratify the usage of a specific frequency before it can be used in that country)
  • Malaysia: Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC)
  • Japan: MIC (Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications)
  • China: Ministry of Information Industry
  • Taiwan: NCC (National Communications Commission)
  • South Africa: ICASA
  • South Korea: Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Energy
  • Australia: Australian Communications and Media Authority
  • New Zealand: Ministry of Economic Development
  • Singapore: Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore
  • Brazil: Anatel (Agência Nacional de Telecomunicações)

Some industry standards that have been made regarding RFID technology include: 

  • ISO 14223: Radiofrequency identification of animals – Advanced transponders
  • ISO/IEC 14443: This standard is a popular HF (13.56 MHz) standard for HighFIDs which is being used as the basis of RFID-enabled passports under ICAO 9303.
  • ISO/IEC 15693: This is also a popular HF (13.56 MHz) standard for HighFIDs widely used for non-contact smart payment and credit cards.
  • ISO/IEC 1 8000: Information technology — Radio frequency identification for item management:
  • ISO 18185: This is the industry standard for electronic seals or "e-seals" for tracking cargo containers using the 433 MHz and 2.4 GHz frequencies.
  • GS1 EPCglobal: this is the standardization framework that is most likely to undergo International Standardisation according to ISO rules as with all sound standards in the world, unless residing with limited scope, as customs regulations, air-traffic regulations and others. Currently the big distributors and governmental customers are pushing EPC heavily as a standard.
  • ASTM D7434: Standard Test Method for Determining the Performance of Passive Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) Transponders on Palletized or Unitized Loads
  • ASTM D7435: Standard Test Method for Determining the Performance of Passive Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) Transponders on Loaded Containers
  • ASTM D7580: Standard Test Method for Rotary Stretch Wrapper Method for Determining the Readability of Passive RFID Transponders on Homogenous Palletized or Unitized Loads

Copyright © 2015
The International RFID Business Association (RFIDba), All Rights Reserved.